Head of College’s Office

Head of College W. Mark Saltzman

W. Mark Saltzman, the Goizueta Foundation Professor of Chemical and Biomedical Engineering, has been a member of the Yale faculty since 2002, with appointments in biomedical engineering, chemical engineering, cellular molecular physiology and dermatology.  In 2003, he became the founding chair of the Department of Biomedical Engineering, serving in that role until 2015.  Over the past years, much of his research work has been conducted in collaboration with physician-scientists at the Yale School of Medicine.

 

Head Saltzman is known as a “dedicated and acclaimed teacher” for his courses which examine topics from physiological systems and the physiology of health to the engineering of drug delivery.  In 2009, Saltzman was awarded Yale’s Sheffield Teaching Prize for excellence in the classroom.  His course on the “Frontiers of Biomedical Engineering” is available around the globe through the online Open Yale Course program.

 

In addition to his teaching, Saltzman has been recognized widely for his excellence in research.  He has been a Fellow of the Biomedical Engineering Society, Connecticut Academy of Science & Engineering, and the National Academy of Inventors.  He has been elected to the National Academy of Medicine and the National Academy of Engineers.  He has delivered over 300 invited lectures throughout the world and has authored three textbooks.

 

Saltzman graduated with distinction from Iowa State University in 1981 with B.S in chemical engineering and he received an S.M. in chemical engineering (1984) and a Ph.D in medical engineering (1987) from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.  Prior to joining the Yale faculty, he held faculty appointments at John Hopkins University and Cornell University.

 

Head Saltzman lives in the Head of College house with his wife, Christina, son Zach, daughters Noa and Willa, dogs Que and Lulu and cat, Link.

 

Head of College Saltzmans’ Office Hours

The Head of College is available for office hours many afternoons and some evenings. If you would like to make an appointment, email diane.cusack@yale.edu.  His office is located in Head of College’s house in JE. If you have an appointment, please use the side door across from the Receiving Office, just inside the main gate.

Email: mark.saltzman@yale.edu

Phone: Diane Cusack, Sr. AA to Head of College  - 203.432.0380

Associate Head of College Christina M. Pavlak

Christina M. Pavlak is an Assistant Professor of Education and the Program Director of the Master of Arts in Teaching program at Quinnipiac University. Her research centers on social justice issues in teacher education, in particular literacy education for English learners.

Since 2016, Christina has served as the Associate Head of Jonathan Edwards College at Yale University.

 

Christina graduated from Colgate University with a Bachelors degree in Sociology and Spanish literature. She earned her MA degree in Sociology and Education from Columbia University, Teachers College and her PhD in Curriculum and Instruction from Boston College.

 

Prior to becoming a professor, Christina was a bilingual elementary school teacher in Santa Fe, New Mexico.

Christina has received the Faculty Scholar Award (Quinnipiac, 2017) for her work preparing future teachers to work with English learners and the Kim Fries Memorial Award (Boston College 2014) for academic achievement, commitment to social justice education, and dedication to community. She was also awarded the Donald J. White Teaching Excellence Award (Boston College 2012).

 

Operations Manager

Gygi Jennings
Phone: 203.432.8839
Email: gygi.jennings@yale.edu

Senior Administrative Assistant

Diane Cusack
Phone: 203.432.0380
Email: diane.cusack@yale.edu

 

JE College Aides

(To contact the JE Aides, email jonathanedwards.aides@gmail.com)
Head Aide Kazemi Adachi ‘20 kazemi.adachi@yale.edu
Head Aide Cassie Goodnight ‘19 cassie.goodnight@yale.edu
Posters & Media Sophie Potter ‘20 sophie.potter@yale.edu
Tech Guru Colin Yap ‘20 colin.yap@yale.edu
Media & Photography Chika Ogbejesi ‘21 chika.ogbejesi@yale.edu
Nickolina Doran ‘21 nickolina.doran@yale.edu
Mail & Archives Siduri Beckman ‘20 siduri.beckman@yale.edu
Game Room Manager Matthew LaMirande ‘21 matthew.lamirande@yale.edu
Events Bhupinder Singh ‘20 bhupinder.singh@yale.edu
(abroad) Elizabeth Bruce ‘20 elizabeth.bruce@yale.edu